The Marianne River located in the dreamy village of Blanchisseuse is a fascinating place to enjoy some exciting river adventures. What makes the river so attractive is its natural Eden green landscape of Bamboo and Cacao trees. It reminds us of the rich history that surrounds Blanchisseuse. After all, it is because of the river that Blanchisseuse got its name. The English Surveyor Frederick Mallet saw the women washing their clothes in the river and called the place “Ladies River.” Later the French referred to the place as Blanchisseuse meaning “Washer Woman.” The long coastal drive to Blanchisseuse is never complete without a visit to the river located on the far eastern end of the community. A prominent landmark is the Spring Bridge, which was relocated from Manzanilla to Blanchisseuse in 1952. Recently the bridge was refurbished to facilitate foot-traffic, and its historical significance remains recognised. The amasing scenery at the river's mouth, enhanced by a backdrop of high mountains, pristine forest, and sandy beaches is truly breathtaking. Its calm and soothing waters is a favourite spot for beach limes and an ideal place to kayak. A look towards the ocean everything seems so perfect, the pulsing heartbeat of the sea, with its never-ending swells crashing gently into the river’s lagoon. Further upstream two destinations with a bucket-load of fun are Avocar Falls and Three Pools. Sometimes referred to as Avocat Falls, Marianne Falls and Grand Fond Falls.
Up until 1931, the Blanchisseuse community remained isolated from the rest of Trinidad and the only way to reach there was by the weekly island ferry. The construction of the Arima, Blanchisseuse Road allowed the first drivable access to the village and in the1970’s the Maracas North Coast Road was extended for a further 18 miles to Blanchisseue. In 1869, the explorer Charles Kingsley was the first Englishman to make his way through the forest to visit Blanchisseuse. Another landmark is the Roman Catholic Church “Our Lady of Mt Carmel" built in 1835. One of the church bells donated by the British in 1835 originated from Bristol, England while the other came from Lyon France in 1878. A distinguished person who was born in Blanchisseuse was Sir Solomon Hochoy. In 1960 he became the first local Governor and in 1962 he was promoted to Governor General.
The expedition to Avocar Waterfall starts from the Spring Bridge in Blanchessue. The uphill walk through the forest to Avocar will take an hour. Along the way, the trail crosses several ridges then descends into the mainstream. The falls located over the mountain in an isolated valley, with its source coming from another tributary. At its base, there is a lovely pool to swim. Huge boulders encircle the falls and at the same time add brilliance to the already awesome scenery. The return journey is a downstream river adventure to a spot in the river where there are a series of cascades known as Three Pools. Along the river course, there are several fault lines where the kinetic energy of the water has created three large basins and a natural water slide. There is the option to spend the time relaxing at Three Pools for those not wishing to come down the river. For details contact Mario: 749-2956, Jamal 761-1889, Marcia 4902421 or www. Islandhikers.com.
On Sunday 5th May 2019, Island Hikers visit Avocar Waterfall and 3 Pools.
Assembly 1: 7 am at the entrance to the Central Bank Auditorium.
Assembly 2: 730am opposite Sam’s Bar Maracas Bay
Option 1 Rated: 4 (moderate). Visit falls & exploration of river 3 hours
Option 2: Rated 2 (easy). 20 min hike to Three Pools (recommended kids 5 and up).
Registration is on the morning of the hike $60
Secure vehicle parking is available at Marianne Beach.
Optional maxi-taxi transport from Port of Spain, please call the day before the hike to book.